Who Were the 12 Disciples of Jesus Christ?

Jesus Is Lord
Spread the love

Who Were the 12 Disciples of Jesus Christ?

  • Paul
  • Peter
  • Thomas
  • Andrew
  • Matthew
  • Philip
  • James
  • Bartholomew
  • Simon the Zealot
  • Matthias
  • John
  • Judas Iscariot

The 12 apostles were chosen by Jesus Christ to learn from him. Eventually, they would go on to carry his ministry to the rest of the world.  He called Simon Peter “the rock”.  He said that Peter would build his church and that hell would not succeed. 

12 Disciples of Jesus Christ choosing them
The 12 Disciples of Jesus Christ Were Chosen

What Were The 12 Disciples Deaths?

Judas Iscariot – He hung himself after Jesus was crucified. 

Simon Peter – He was crucified upside down on a cross.  He didn’t see himself worthy enough to be crucified in the same way that Jesus was crucified.

James the son of Zebedee – This apostle was executed by Herod.  

Paul – He died by beheading. 

Andrew – Death by crucifixion.

Thomas – It is believed that this apostle died because he was speared by 4 soldiers.

Philip – Unknown cause of death.  However, he is believed to have been martyred. 

Matthew – It is believed that he may have been stabbed to death.

Bartholomew – It is believed that he has killed and did not die a natural death.

James – He was clubbed and stoned to death.

Simon – He was killed for not obeying to worship the sun god.

Matthias – He was burned to death. (He replaced Judas after his suicide)

John – He may had died a natural cause of death.

12 Apostles and Their Characteristics

Jesus called Peter his rock.  He thought of Peter as being a strong-willed man that would carry out his will.  Peter went on to lead the apostles and sent them out to preach the gospel of Jesus Christ. 

12 Disciples of Jesus Christ learning from Jesus
The 12 Disciples of Jesus Christ Being Taught

Before becoming an apostle, Peter was a fisherman.  He also knew how to lead, and the other apostles looked up to him for guidance. We know that Peter was a coward on at least one occasion because he did deny knowing Jesus three times.  Jesus had predicted this and told Peter that he would deny him 3 times. 

John the apostle was called Jesus’ beloved. Andrew was a fisherman like Peter and a follower of John the Baptist.  The character of Andrew was not like his brother Peter. He was the opposite. He was calmer and not a loud man.  He was a powerful preacher.  When he was about to be crucified, he was not afraid. He faced it boldly. 

James had a real passion for people.  John was his brother and were sons of the powerful man known as Zebedee.  Jesus refereed to them in the New Testament as the sons of thunder.  You can see this in Mark 3:17. 

James was seen to be quieter. Philip had a passionate side for evangelism. Bartholomew was a person that had a great love for God.  Matthew was a tax collector and hated by most of the Jews before he became a Christian. Tax collectors were known for stealing from the people in order to make themselves more money and to collect money for Rome. 

There is not much known about his personality. However, before coming to Jesus, he was most likely someone that was greedy and didn’t mind taking from people what they worked hard for. 

Thomas didn’t have much faith. He is often called doubting Thomas because he had to see it in order to believe it.  After Jesus was crucified, he appeared before the apostles when Thomas wasn’t around. When he returned, the apostles told him that Jesus had been there and was alive. 

12 Disciples of Jesus Christ and the water
12 Disciples of Jesus Christ Watching Him Walk On Water

Thomas didn’t want to believe it. He said, “Unless I can put my finger through his pierced hands and feet, I will not believe it.”   Jesus did indeed appear to him and Thomas was able to touch his hands and see that he was alive. Jesus proved that he rose from the dead. This is what Thomas needed to believe. 

Judas Iscariot never gave Jesus Christ his heart. Even though he was with him for 3 years and followed him wherever he went like the other apostles, he refused to believe.  He was known to be a traitor and the Bible says that it would have been better if Judas was never born (Matthew 26:24). 

Not much is known about the personality of Judas or where he came from. However, if you look at a traitor’s personality, they are often someone that has no love for anyone and are only about themselves.  They will do anything for money as Judas betrayed Jesus for 30 pieces of silver.

If a man could betray Jesus who was full of love, healing and resurrection, the man must be evil.  How can you walk with someone for 3 years and witness all the miracles and love and yet betray him for 30 pieces of silver?  This is probably one of the hardest read stories of the New Testament. However, the story is true. 

Because of the ministry of the 12 disciples of Jesus, Christians around the world can celebrate Christ and the love that he has shared for millions of people around the world. It is good that the entire world focuses on Christ and all that he has done for us. 

It’s important to always tell others about Jesus.  Most Christians alive today will not have to face being a martyr. Praise God that the apostles and other Christians preached the gospel regardless of what man would due to them. Even Stephen was stoned to death. 

When you believe strongly in something, it begins to show in your personality. You can’t hide the fact that you love Jesus or want him to be the savior of your life.  If you are living in sin, repent of your sin and turn to Jesus.  Jesus is always there waiting for you to return to him. Show Christ that you are willing to give him your all. 

The 12 apostles proved to us that they were willing to die for Jesus. This means that Jesus was a real person and was truthful.  Jesus said what the future would hold, and he proved that he was the messiah. 

Twin Flame Writer

I am a professional blogger and enjoy writing about astrology, horoscopes, soulmates and much more. I am considered to be a top expert in my field.

Recent Posts

12 Disciples of Jesus Christ chosen ones